Previous Page

Data, Mine

Gallery

Work by Hasan Elahi and Laurie Frick ----- “Data, Mine”, the title of this two-person exhibition featuring the work of data visualization artists Hasan Elahi and Laurie Frick, references the methodology and relationship the artists have with data. In the early 2000s, Elahi started an elaborate project in self-surveillance when he was mistakenly put on a terrorist watch list. Elahi’s work examines issues of surveillance, citizenship, migration, transport, and challenges of borders and frontiers. Frick, who advocates, “Take your data back and turn it into something meaningful,” analyzes online dating information resulting in colorful installations addressing friendship.-----Special Events and Hours Lexington Gallery Hop | Friday, Jan. 18, 5-8 p.m. Closed Monday, January 21 for MLK Day Art Talk with Laurie Frick and Hasan Elahi |Thursday, Jan. 24, 6 p.m., Carrick Theater with a reception to follow in Morlan Gallery, 7-8 p.m. Evening Hours | Saturday, Feb. 16, 6:30-7:30 p.m.

Dates in your area:
Transylvania University – Morlan Gallery
• Wed 1/16/19 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Thu 1/17/19 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Fri 1/18/19 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Mon 1/21/19 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Tue 1/22/19 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Wed 1/23/19 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Thu 1/24/19 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Fri 1/25/19 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Mon 1/28/19 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Tue 1/29/19 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Wed 1/30/19 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Thu 1/31/19 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Fri 2/1/19 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Mon 2/4/19 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Tue 2/5/19 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Wed 2/6/19 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Thu 2/7/19 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Fri 2/8/19 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Mon 2/11/19 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Tue 2/12/19 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Wed 2/13/19 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Thu 2/14/19 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Fri 2/15/19 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Mon 2/18/19 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Tue 2/19/19 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM