Previous Page

First Presbyterian Church

174 N. Mill St., Lexington, KY

Phone:
1-(859)-252-1919

Website:
fpclex.org/in-the-gallery/

Get Directions

Featured Event

No upcoming events

Other Upcoming Events

The Journeyman's Song - The artwork of Jeff Chapman-Crane

Art Show

Landscapes and Portraits of Appalachia by artist Jeff Chapman-Crane I am an Appalachian artist. The work I do is rooted in the experience of being Appalachian. That experience, I believe, has been misunderstood by nearly everyone outside the region and by far too many within it. Certainly, it has been misrepresented by the popular media. Characterizations like those found in The Beverly Hillbillies, Snuffy Smith, Lil' Abner, and Hee Haw form the predominant image of life in Appalachia. Such a portrayal is, at best, a trivialization of a rich, diverse, and valuable indigenous culture. At worst it is demeaning, cruel, and damaging. The exploitation that has long been a part of Appalachia's history is directly related to the self-image of its people. Regrettably, the negative stereotypes of mountain life have influenced not only those outside the region, but Appalachia's own people as well. My art addresses this situation. By presenting a more genuine portrayal of life in Appalachia, one that reflects my own experiences, I seek to inject more of the truth into the images that influence public perceptions. Mountain life is not a situation comedy featuring lazy, dull-witted barbarians blundering through life in modern times, nor is it the quaint, romantic ideal of the more sentimental imagery. It is, however, a unique expression of the rich diversity found in human culture, and as such, it has much of value to offer. This is what my art is about; this is its content. My chosen form is realism, an approach that leads to greater clarity of statement. Such clarity is important to me; I want what I know, what I love, and what I believe to be understood. I think it is also important to the people of Appalachia, because as a people we have not been understood; even the knowledge of ourselves and our own culture has diminished over time.

Information:

• Mon 8/19/19 at 9:00 AM - 3:00 PM
• Tue 8/20/19 at 9:00 AM - 3:00 PM
• Wed 8/21/19 at 9:00 AM - 3:00 PM
• Thu 8/22/19 at 9:00 AM - 3:00 PM
• Fri 8/23/19 at 9:00 AM - 3:00 PM
• Mon 8/26/19 at 9:00 AM - 3:00 PM
• Tue 8/27/19 at 9:00 AM - 3:00 PM
• Wed 8/28/19 at 9:00 AM - 3:00 PM
• Thu 8/29/19 at 9:00 AM - 3:00 PM
• Fri 8/30/19 at 9:00 AM - 3:00 PM
• Mon 9/2/19 at 9:00 AM - 3:00 PM
• Tue 9/3/19 at 9:00 AM - 3:00 PM
• Wed 9/4/19 at 9:00 AM - 3:00 PM
• Thu 9/5/19 at 9:00 AM - 3:00 PM
• Fri 9/6/19 at 9:00 AM - 3:00 PM
• Mon 9/9/19 at 9:00 AM - 3:00 PM
• Tue 9/10/19 at 9:00 AM - 3:00 PM
• Wed 9/11/19 at 9:00 AM - 3:00 PM
• Thu 9/12/19 at 9:00 AM - 3:00 PM
• Fri 9/13/19 at 9:00 AM - 3:00 PM
• Mon 9/16/19 at 9:00 AM - 3:00 PM
• Tue 9/17/19 at 9:00 AM - 3:00 PM
• Wed 9/18/19 at 9:00 AM - 3:00 PM
• Thu 9/19/19 at 9:00 AM - 3:00 PM
• Fri 9/20/19 at 9:00 AM - 3:00 PM
• Mon 9/23/19 at 9:00 AM - 3:00 PM
• Tue 9/24/19 at 9:00 AM - 3:00 PM
• Wed 9/25/19 at 9:00 AM - 3:00 PM
• Thu 9/26/19 at 9:00 AM - 3:00 PM
• Fri 9/27/19 at 9:00 AM - 3:00 PM