Previous Page

First Presbyterian Church

174 N. Mill St., Lexington, KY

Phone:
1-(859)-252-1919

Website:
fpclex.org/in-the-gallery/

Get Directions

Featured Event

No upcoming events

Other Upcoming Events

Bits and Bobs - Artwork by Constance Grayson

Art Show

"Bits and Bobs" Paintings and Textile Work by Constance Grayson March 4 - April 30, 2019 Artist Statement: The title for this exhibit comes from a British saying, "bits and bobs." The phrase is used to mean bits and pieces, odds and ends, leftovers. A "bit" was a three-penny coin and a "bob" was a shilling - both small coins in the British monetary system. This phrase describes both the materials used and the methodology for this exhibit. In my art, I am excited by form, color, and texture. I follow these three design elements in both my paintings and in my textile pieces. I often incorporate found objects in my paintings and my textile pieces are comprised almost entirely of the bits and pieces of fiber I have found or which I create from other bits and bobs. My art is not meant to be representational. It is meant to convey a mood or emotion. When working, I follow the form, texture, and color where it leads. I work intuitively from my reaction to the design elements I am incorporating in any given piece. Sometimes the results are satisfactory, other times not. Always they excite me. - Constance Grayson, March 2019

Information:

• Tue 3/19/19 at 9:00 AM - 3:00 PM
• Wed 3/20/19 at 9:00 AM - 3:00 PM
• Thu 3/21/19 at 9:00 AM - 3:00 PM
• Fri 3/22/19 at 9:00 AM - 3:00 PM
• Mon 3/25/19 at 9:00 AM - 3:00 PM
• Tue 3/26/19 at 9:00 AM - 3:00 PM
• Wed 3/27/19 at 9:00 AM - 3:00 PM
• Thu 3/28/19 at 9:00 AM - 3:00 PM
• Fri 3/29/19 at 9:00 AM - 3:00 PM
• Mon 4/1/19 at 9:00 AM - 3:00 PM
• Tue 4/2/19 at 9:00 AM - 3:00 PM
• Wed 4/3/19 at 9:00 AM - 3:00 PM
• Thu 4/4/19 at 9:00 AM - 3:00 PM
• Fri 4/5/19 at 9:00 AM - 3:00 PM

Kentucky Bach Choir Spring 2019 Concert

Choral, Classical

J S Bach's Palm Sunday Cantata BWV 182 "Himmelskönig, sei willkommen" plus, joined by the UK Chorale: 2 settings of "Dixit Dominus" by Handel and Monteverdi

Information:

• Sun 4/7/19 at 7:30 PM - 9:30 PM

Bits and Bobs - Artwork by Constance Grayson

Art Show

"Bits and Bobs" Paintings and Textile Work by Constance Grayson March 4 - April 30, 2019 Artist Statement: The title for this exhibit comes from a British saying, "bits and bobs." The phrase is used to mean bits and pieces, odds and ends, leftovers. A "bit" was a three-penny coin and a "bob" was a shilling - both small coins in the British monetary system. This phrase describes both the materials used and the methodology for this exhibit. In my art, I am excited by form, color, and texture. I follow these three design elements in both my paintings and in my textile pieces. I often incorporate found objects in my paintings and my textile pieces are comprised almost entirely of the bits and pieces of fiber I have found or which I create from other bits and bobs. My art is not meant to be representational. It is meant to convey a mood or emotion. When working, I follow the form, texture, and color where it leads. I work intuitively from my reaction to the design elements I am incorporating in any given piece. Sometimes the results are satisfactory, other times not. Always they excite me. - Constance Grayson, March 2019

Information:

• Mon 4/8/19 at 9:00 AM - 3:00 PM
• Tue 4/9/19 at 9:00 AM - 3:00 PM
• Wed 4/10/19 at 9:00 AM - 3:00 PM
• Thu 4/11/19 at 9:00 AM - 3:00 PM
• Fri 4/12/19 at 9:00 AM - 3:00 PM

Audrey Rooney Vocal Competition (KY Bach Choir)

Classical (Solo Vocal)

The Kentucky Bach Choir holds its biennial Audrey Rooney Vocal Competition. Nine finalists will compete for cash prizes and a future performance opportunity with the choir. Reception to follow. Both are open to the public.

Information:

• Sat 4/13/19 at 2:00 PM - 4:00 PM

Bits and Bobs - Artwork by Constance Grayson

Art Show

"Bits and Bobs" Paintings and Textile Work by Constance Grayson March 4 - April 30, 2019 Artist Statement: The title for this exhibit comes from a British saying, "bits and bobs." The phrase is used to mean bits and pieces, odds and ends, leftovers. A "bit" was a three-penny coin and a "bob" was a shilling - both small coins in the British monetary system. This phrase describes both the materials used and the methodology for this exhibit. In my art, I am excited by form, color, and texture. I follow these three design elements in both my paintings and in my textile pieces. I often incorporate found objects in my paintings and my textile pieces are comprised almost entirely of the bits and pieces of fiber I have found or which I create from other bits and bobs. My art is not meant to be representational. It is meant to convey a mood or emotion. When working, I follow the form, texture, and color where it leads. I work intuitively from my reaction to the design elements I am incorporating in any given piece. Sometimes the results are satisfactory, other times not. Always they excite me. - Constance Grayson, March 2019

Information:

• Mon 4/15/19 at 9:00 AM - 3:00 PM
• Tue 4/16/19 at 9:00 AM - 3:00 PM
• Wed 4/17/19 at 9:00 AM - 3:00 PM
• Thu 4/18/19 at 9:00 AM - 3:00 PM
• Fri 4/19/19 at 9:00 AM - 3:00 PM
• Mon 4/22/19 at 9:00 AM - 3:00 PM
• Tue 4/23/19 at 9:00 AM - 3:00 PM
• Wed 4/24/19 at 9:00 AM - 3:00 PM
• Thu 4/25/19 at 9:00 AM - 3:00 PM
• Fri 4/26/19 at 9:00 AM - 3:00 PM